Skip to main content
Help Center

Managing articles & collections

Learn how to create, edit, delete knowledge base articles.

Written By Markus Palm

Last updated 4 days ago

Migrating from other tools? Follow this guide to import your Help Center.

Creating new articles & collections

Creating help articles from the dashboard.

To create a new help article or collection:

  1. Go to Dashboard → Help center

  2. Click New Collection / Article on the top right

You can also create new articles under existing collections by clicking the + icon on the right from them.

P.S. Learn to set up your Help Center in multiple languages →


Changing articles’ collection

Changing the help article's collection.

To change the collection of an article:

  1. Go to Dashboard → Help center

  2. Click the three buttons ⋅⋅⋅ next to the article or collection whose parent collection you want to change

  3. Choose the desired collection under the ‘Change collection’ drop-down

You can also drag & drop them under the desired parent collections and have unlimited nested sub-collections.


Article version history

Article version history and rollback.

To see the article version history of all the updates and roll back previous changes:

  1. Open up the desired article

  2. Click the three dots ⋅⋅⋅ on the upper menu

  3. Select ‘View history’

  4. Select the version you want to recover and click ‘Restore draft to this version’

This will create a new draft based on the selected version that you can then edit and publish.


Unpublishing articles

Unpublishing help center articles.

To revert published articles or locales back to draft:

  1. Open up the article that you want to draft

  2. Click the three dots ⋅⋅⋅ on the upper menu

  3. Select ‘Unpublish article’

This will unpublish the selected locale back to draft. You can select any of the translations from the left side to repeat this action.


Deleting articles & collections

Deleting help center collections and articles.

To delete articles and collections:

  1. Go to Dashboard → Help center

  2. Click the three dots ⋅⋅⋅ next to the article or collection you want to delete

  3. Select Delete

  4. Confirm the deletion request


FAQ

No, your work will always be autosaved, no matter what. You can always come back to the article and see your edits.

Our recommended resolution for knowledge-base illustrations is 16:9 👌

When you delete or reorder an article or a collection, it will apply across all languages.

The Help Center will automatically start collapsing collections in the side menu when you have at least 5 collections.

You can create FAQ sections with the /accordion element in the editor. It will look like this:

We have an 200MB video upload limit across Featurebase.

We support almost every video format in the game: MP4, MKV, MOV, AVI, FLV, MPEG, MXF, LXF, GXF, 3GP, WebM, MPG, and Quicktime.

Yes. You can make a collection itself open as a sidebar menu in the help center.

This can be good for sending specific end-users to focus on only certain articles by linking to that collection:

Collection as a standalone sidebar in the help center.

Just click the three dots next to a collection and turn on the “Standalone collection” check:

Enabling a standalone collection feature in the help center.