Skip to main content

Merge user accounts

Allow the ability to merge two distinct user accounts, consolidating their associated data such as feedback, comments, and votes, into a single user profile. This would help in managing duplicate user entries and maintaining a cleaner user database.
Post type
💡 New feature
Status: Completed8 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments8

  • Markus Palm changed status to Completed
    Team•

    Feb 23

    Pinned

    You can now merge lead & user profiles either in the Users directory or in the Support Inbox: Merge lead & user profiles

    When you merge a lead into a user:

    • All conversations from both profiles are combined

    • Lead attributes are transferred if the user profile does not already have a value

    Merging potential duplicate leads from the support inbox.

    A couple of things to note:

    • A lead can be merged into a user profile

    • A user cannot be merged back into a lead profile

    • 2 leads cannot be merged

    • 2 users cannot be merged

  • Paul Reinarz

    •

    Jan 14

    This is holding us up from migrating from Zendesk, as we have users that send support emails from a different email address than what is on their account (and comes from chat). Upon merging, it would be essential that both email addresses are retained on the account for future matching.

    • Markus Palm

      Team•

      Jan 14

      Hey Paul! Thanks for the additional insights!

      Just so you know, this is high priority on our roadmap and we’ll start working on this very soon! You’ll be notified about any updates.

  • Amr from Lunchflow

    •

    Oct 8, 2025

    •

    Merged request

    •

    2 votes

    Let qualification attributes merge email to an existing user

    Currently, when a visitor starts a conversation and later provides their email (for example, through a qualification field or follow-up question), a new customer record is created instead of merging it with the existing anonymous session.

    It would be great if Featurebase automatically merged the visitor’s session with an existing user profile when the provided email matches an existing account.

    This would prevent duplicates, keep the user’s history unified, and make it easier to track conversations, feedback, and activity under a single user.

    Use case:

    A visitor chats anonymously, then shares their email mid-conversation - this should link the chat to their existing user profile rather than creating a new one.

    • Amr from Lunch Flow

      •

      Oct 7, 2025

      In the meantime, I’ll be content with the ability to set a customer manually on conversations while this gets updated :) This is helpful in case they share something other than the email, or if they reach out from a different email address for example.

    • Markus Palm changed status to In Progress
      Team•

      Oct 8, 2025

      Pinned

      Hey! Yeah we already have it in progress and are going to do it asap.

  • Jennifer Scheuerell

    •

    Sep 26, 2025

    •

    Merged request

    •

    3 votes

    Add ability to merge two user accounts

    It would be super helpful if we could merge two user accounts into one, akin to how we can merge duplicate posts into one.

    We started using Featurebase with our site core users before fully integrating Featurebase with SSO in our site. The integration is now complete and our core users who started early ended up with two user accounts in Featurebase - their SSO user and the user they had previously created. Our users are asking if they have to go click through every post they had previously followed with their new SSO accounts and we’d love to not need them to do that.

  • Milan Kolar

    •

    Sep 26, 2025

    •

    Merged request

    •

    1 vote

    Merge users

    We'd really benefit from the ability to "merge" two users into one, or re-attribute an existing conversations and posts to new users.

    We have two use cases:
    1. A person accidentally creates multiple accounts, because first the leave feedback with a personal e-mail and later they log it from the product with proper authentication. At that moment we have them twice and they and us are confused when jumping between the accounts

    2. Quite regularly we have a situation where a Lead asks a bunch of questions that Fibi or we deal with. These tends to be mostly triggered from our web or the help portal. That means the person is usually not full known. We might know their e-mail (often personal), but as a rule we'll see them as Turquoise Frost or other autogenerated charming name. This person hopefully then goes to create a trial, becoming fully identified as a customer and all further messages from them are coming as Real Name (+ work e-mail usually). The problem is that from their perspective they are just continuing the conversation, ergo might be referring to previous chats. It is, however really really hard to find those chat as they are technically with a different person as far as FB is concerned.