Admin roles
Learn to restrict the access of your team members using different admin roles.
Written By Kateryna Babenko
Last updated About 6 hours ago
Overview
Sometimes you don't want your entire team to have access to everything in Featurebase - so we've made it easy to give certain team members access to specific data and features.
By default, you can use 3 presets:
Admins - can edit all organization settings
Managers - can edit everything except important organization settings like billing, API, other team members, etc
Contributors - can sort feedback, manage comments, vote on behalf of users, and more (e.g., your customer support or sales team)
Our Enterprise plan customers can also create highly flexible custom roles by hand-picking the access to each role.
Note: All admin roles count towards your billed seats. If you’re looking for free external collaborators, check out this article on Full vs Lite seats.
Assigning roles to team members

To add a role to one of your team members:
Click the ••• three dots next to your teammate
Under Change role, select the desired role
Creating custom admin roles

If you’re on our Enterprise plan, you can create completely customizable roles:
Click on the Roles button on the top right
From the upper menu, select the role you want to customize or create a new one
Select your desired access settings
Click Save on the bottom right corner
Overview of all customizable role permissions
FAQ
What does the Crown icon mean next to my name in Team settings?
What does the Crown icon mean next to my name in Team settings?
The Crown icon beside your name means you are the organization’s owner. You can transfer ownership of the organization if needed.
What are Admin roles vs. User roles?
What are Admin roles vs. User roles?
Admin roles let you restrict your team members’ access in Featurebase, while User roles let limit end-users' access to boards, updates, and more.
What are Admin roles vs Seat types?
What are Admin roles vs Seat types?
Seat types determine whether a teammate has full access or limited access to your workspace. Full seats are billed and include all capabilities, while Lite seats are free and offer restricted access for collaborators outside your core team (e.g., sales, engineering, designers).
Admin roles control what a teammate can do inside the workspace. Roles like Admin, Manager, or Contributor define permissions but do not affect billing. A teammate can have any role regardless of whether they use a Full or Lite seat.
More in Workspace settings
Delete WorkspaceEnterprise SSO setupDirectory sync setupStill need help? Ask the team